Creating Meaning and Finding Purpose

“The crowning fortune of a man is to be born to some pursuit which finds him employment and happiness, whether it be to make baskets, or broadswords, or canals, or statues, or songs.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

When I think of my life calling, I personally get incredibly frustrated. I have always been the type of person that wants to experience a broad range of things, so whenever people ask me what I want to do with my life, I get rather flustered. In my mind, it wouldn’t be too big of a problem to just take things as they come.

In an article for class, “Stars and Steppingstones” by Jeff Sandefer, a quote jumped out at me. He says, “Refusing to set priorities is similar to refusing to set a vision. Choosing an end is not about limits, it is about setting priorities that allow you to accomplish as much as possible.” These two sentences have shaken up the way that I look towards the future. Don’t get me wrong, it’s okay to go with the flow in a general sense. I think that where people get stuck is not setting those priorities. Of all of our goals, which are the most important? What do we not want to die without achieving? When we figure that out, we are then able to lead a more purposeful life. One that is working in a general direction while being open along the way.

While I can’t say that I will ever be good at making baskets or statues, I do know that I am good at writing. Certainly not the best, but it is a gift that I enjoy improving upon. As of right now, my next big goal is to get into grad school. With a Master’s degree I will be able to teach online course while working free lance writing jobs at home. With these two jobs working together, I can be a stay at home mom and try to focus on what is most important to me – building a family.

Whether this ends up being what happens, I can’t say for certain. However, having a direction in life is nice. Now I can simply focus on the pursuit of my dreams and do what I was born to do.

Leave a Reply

