The Importance of Mentors

Among other things, last week I learned about the importance of having good mentors in our lives. I’m not sure who said this, but someone has once defined a mentor this way: “someone whose hindsight can become your foresight.”

As a younger person, I remember having to always learn the hard way. No matter how many people would warn me of something, I had to try it to believe it. Eventually though, I learned that it is often a lot easier and much more effective to try learning from other people when possible. That being said, I had never really considered going out and actively finding a mentor of sorts. Lucky for me, my business class had me do just this.

I found three individuals, all from different stages of life, that relate to me on some level and asked if I could take up a small portion of their time. I still have one tomorrow, but I have learned a ton from the other two.

From a short conversation with an acquaintance, he was able to steer me in the right direction on many levels. I went into the conversation ready to simply learn how to figure out my next more, but I came out with more. Three goals/commitments to be exact.

  1. Get rid of all questioning negative language from my vocabulary. Wherever I feel the urge to use such language, I am to use positive and motivational alternatives.
  2. Read Finding Your Element: How to Discover Your Talents and Passions and Transform Your Life by Ken Robinson.
  3. Write the book I have felt the need to write within the next three years.

Aside from these three goals, I have also learned much about myself and how to improve in other ways. On top of that, I have received incredible advice from people who have already been where I am now. So, not only do I have some good pointers, but I have vision and know that it is possible.

Mentoring

So, if you haven’t already, go out and find some mentors. Find people that have already made progress on a similar path to the one you are considering taking. Ask questions and soak everything in. It is through this method that we are able to make important strides forward and move in the direction of success.

One thought on “The Importance of Mentors

Leave a Reply

