Holding on to Light

The lessons that I had in all of my classes this week could not have been more perfect for me. It was one of those weeks where everything was going right…until a wall popped up out of nowhere. Suddenly, I have no idea where I need to go and what I need to do. This would be fine if I had time, but there is just over one month until I graduate. Upon graduation, I lose my student job and housing. No pressure.

Well, as I said I had classes that covered really great material that helped me out a ton. I still don’t know where I am going, but I am working on that part. In A Field Guide for the Hero’s Journey, there is a chapter on “The Giant of Despair.” Within this chapter it reads, “when you are in the valley of darkness, go on believing in light.” Just a few short sentences later, a prisoner in a Nazi concentration camp was referenced. During his captivity, he wrote the following words on a cellar wall: “I believe in the sun even when it is not shining, I believe in love even when I do not feel it, I believe in God even when He is silent.”

It amazes me the things that people push through while holding on to light and hope. In my faith, these principles are taught and I strive to live them, but it’s hard. This is something that takes work and effort, so there isn’t time to sit on the sidelines and wait for good things to come to you. Sure, failure is a possibility, but I would rather fail a thousand times than die without even trying. And that is coming from someone who’s number one fear is failure.

We need to learn to start embracing some of these failures and accept them for what they truly are: learning experiences. If you think about it, have you really failed if you learned what you needed from the situation? No matter how long the trial, no matter how far the setback, and no matter how many obstacles seem to knock you over, we cannot let fear and darkness define us.

In a talk entitled “However Long and Hard the Road” by LDS church leader Elder Jeffery R. Holland, the following was said, “As long and laborious as the effort may seem, please keep shaping and setting the stones that will make your accomplishment “a grand and imposing spectacle.” Take advantage of every opportunity to learn and grow. Dream dreams and see visions. Work toward their realization. Wait patiently when you have no other choice. Lean on your sword and rest a while, but get up and fight again.”

This is the big picture goal. Not to give in, but to fight the good fight with a dream in mind.

Leave a Reply

