Leading with Execution

The “theme” of the week is leadership! I am not going to pretend to be an expert on this one, because generally I am really good at following. Being an introvert, this is where I am happy. I like to listen and assess. However, I have been working on my ability to be a leader in appropriate situations.

Among other things, one of my assigned readings for my business class was “A Message to Garcia.” The general subject matter of the article is the importance of execution. “The ability to execute is more valuable than education or talent, because it is far rarer.”

People with the drive to execute don’t stop to ask useless questions. Instead, they get to work and make a plan. If resources or information are necessary, then seek assistance, but then get right back to work.

When one masters the art of execution they will never be out of a job. This type of a person does more than the average person.

To become this, I know that I have some changes to make. I have a tendency to allow fear to take over in a lot of situations. This is probably my biggest struggle in making big life decisions. Fear. As I read the article about Garcia though, I found a really great quote.

“Turn away from the temptation to dwell on negative thoughts. Dwelling on fears only gives them more power. e best way to rid yourself of a fear is to take positive action. Courage isn’t the absence of fear but rather the ability to act in the face of it.”

This is what it takes to be a leader. The fear isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It’s when we allow it to take control that we begin to have problems.

Leave a Reply

