Existing in Possibility

Tomorrow will mark two weeks since graduation for me. It’s so crazy how time continues to fly even when the days feel so long. Much of my time has been spent painstakingly applying to jobs that will further my progress along my journey. On top of that though, I have started to piece together my desires and goals for the longterm. This has involved a lot of reading, discussing, thinking, and general researching.

Just a bit ago I finished reading a book, Finding Your Element: How to Discover Your Talents and Transform Your Life. Generally I am highly skeptical of self-help/motivational books, but this one came highly recommended by a trusted friend and adopted mentor. Instead of trapping people into basic categories like we all have the tendency to do, the author shows the infinite possibility and potential that our lives contain.

As I have contemplated that message it became really bothersome that so many people settle and don’t even try to reach their full potential. Over and over again I have heard people say things along the lines of “life wasn’t meant to be miserable.” But then when I look around, there are a lot of miserable people.

Ever since the Geico commercial with Pinnochio came out, the word potential has turned into a bit of a joke to me. I cannot help but laugh whenever I hear it. However, there is legitimate value in the word. The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines potential as, “existing in possibility : capable of development into actuality.” This very much defines what life is made up of—limitless, infinite potential.

When I think about my life, I now have the desire to live in existing possibility. Over the years, a strong desire for eternal progression has been instilled in me. But without living in possibilities and considering my own capabilities for development, what’s the point of having a desire to progress?

To progress means to be open, to change, and to challenge thinking. It means to never settle for less, but to push further instead. I’m still not completely sure of what my element is, but I have a better idea than I did just one month ago.

One thing that I am completely sure of though, is that I don’t want to become one of the miserable people that have become the standard commonplace in our world. When the end of my road comes I want to look back and say that I made as many dreams become realities as I could. Just imagine how different the world would look if everyone found their true element and actually worked towards it. Society wouldn’t be perfect, but we would all be much better off for it.

Leave a Reply

