The Weight of Freedom

Happy Memorial Day! While I don’t know anyone personally that lost their lives in the pursuit of freedom, I feel the need to write about it today. When thinking of war and loss, my all time favorite book comes to mind. Tim O’Brien’s novel, The Things They Carried, is a beautiful work of pros that deals with this exact subject. One of my favorite quotes in this book came to mind as I was contemplating the holiday.

 

“They carried all they could bear, and then some, including a silent awe for the terrible power of the things they carried.”

While I will likely never know what this truly feels like, I admire those that find the strength to carry such a weight upon their backs. To physically carry heavy weight, but more than that, to carry the immeasurable emotional/mental weight that they do. The weight of potential death, what they are fighting for, love of country, and so much more.

I am incredibly grateful for those that have fought hard and lost their lives in order to keep us safe. To those of you still fighting and that will fight, thank you. God bless America!

 

Leave a Reply

